Tafsir of Verse(s): [1]
حم 1
¡ Ḥā. Mīm. 1 Al-Shūrā is the third in a series of seven sūrahs that open with the Arabic letters ḥāʾ and mīm and are referred to collectively as the Ḥawāmīm. The letters ḥāʾ and mīm are among the separated letters (al-muqaṭṭaʿāt) that are found at the beginning of twenty-nine sūrahs and whose meaning is considered by most commentators to be known only to God; see 2:1c. For some possible meanings of the letters ḥāʾ and mīm, see 40:1c.